Hi.
So, basically,
I really don't know where to start.
Um,
simply put (and I'm sure much to the shock of my mother),
I'm taking a break from Facebook.
I'm not deleting my profile.
I'm not "running away".
I know I'll be back, and I'm not trying to impress you all with my "willpower" to step away.
I'm not trying to get your sympathies, your "But I'll miss you!"s, and I don't particularly think anyone will care. I'm not making a statement, I'm not going to brag about being off the grid, or whatever nonsense people say when they do as I'm doing. I'm not even writing this to announce my departure/hiatus.
I'm doing this because I hate Facebook.
And I want you to know why.
Sure, I like being in touch with people. I love the majority of you. Seriously. I get to be connected with my family that lives far away, and for that I'm grateful.
I love being able to keep you semi up to date with my life, and share funny things with one another, brag about my husband, and write about all the good things in my life.
Sweet stories, cute messages, inspiring words... they're all good things.
What I hate however, is your opinion.
Obviously, we're entitled to think what we want about whatever we want. I respect that we don't see eye to eye on a few things, some things, a lot of things, or basically everything.
But I am so darn sick and tired of hearing what you think about
EVERYTHING.
I don't care.
I mean, I do.
but at the same time
I really, really don't.
Does that make sense?
I've been an avid Facebook user since I was about 17. I scroll through my newsfeed even when I know there's nothing new or worth of my time just because I'm bored, or want to preoccupy my mind with something other than worrying about school. And, like I said, I'm not quitting Facebook entirely. I have a little brother to make sure I'm adequately teasing, and I will be 'liking' any and all pictures of my nephew-to-be in December-ish.
To some of you, not using Facebook much isn't a big deal.
But, honestly guys, if it's to the point that I'M sick of it... there's a problem.
Everyone is so mean to each other, cramming opinions down someone else's throat all while saying "I mean, it's just my opinion, but..." making it seem innocent and harmless...
but I feel like probably the biggest part of being civil human being is RESPECTING each other's beliefs and opinions and interests without needing to throw in our two cents.
And I sincerely hope that anyone that takes the time to read this really considers how they use Facebook, if and how they spread negativity, and how poorly we treat our so called "friends" by making them feel invalidated for whatever reason.
Be kind.
Or as my dad would say to my cats: "BE NICE AND NICE!"